Blyberget Nature Reserve

Älvdalen
Blyberget stands tall at 525 meters above sea level, composed of the porphyry rock known as Blyberg Porphyry. This rock has gained global recognition due to the artistic objects crafted from it found across the world. The environment surrounding the porphyry quarries is of significant cultural and historical value. Moreover, the area holds treasures related to plant life and outdoor activities. Since 2018, Blyberget has been designated a nature reserve, protecting its unique offerings for future generations to explore and enjoy.

Good to know

Street address 1
Blybergets naturreservat
City (address)
796 91 Blyberg

Description

History
In the area of Blyberget there´s two quarries. The older quarry was used from year 1788 to 1940s. The porphyry processing started as a project to get income for the locals in Älvdalen, after a couple of bad harvest years. The old quarry is now a protected ancient monument.

The new quarry started in 1939 and proceeded into the 1960’s for industrial purpose. By skilled engineer work and artistic design, the Älvdalen porphyry industry became the leading company making porphyry handicrafts in Europe.

Trails, nature and views
The trail is well marked and nicely made, with blue markings and stairs at the steepest places. In some places, it is steep to get up or down. Around the quarries the trail is about 3 kilometres.

The mountain has steep sides which is typical for porphyry rocks. In the east part, the eastern steeple grows the spruce forest dense, here are also various pendants. On the west side it is a little drier and there the pines thrive.

At midsummer’s eve it is common to walk up to the top of the mountain. Here you can see the sunrise begin in east and the sun touching the mountain tops in the west, just to slowly make its way down in the valley.

Ugglasstenen
By the old quarry, at the top of the cliff, you can see a big rock with inscriptions. The rock was given its name after one of many inscriptions, the most dominate. A man named Samuel Ugglas wrote his name on the rock in 1810. Samuel Ugglas was a part-owner of the Älvdalen porphyry company and visited the two industries Näset and Långö.

Location

© OpenStreetMap contributors.

Build: 02/04/2025 09:07:55, Host: CBONLINEBOTS01, DB: o3.cbguide-4804.cbischannel-30250.v1 cbraven02.visitgroup.com:8080, Controller: Todo, Action: showdetails